I Will Run To You….. In Memory of Kerrie Orozco

kerri-orozcoThis past week in my hometown of Omaha, Nebraska a woman named Kerrie Orozco was killed while on duty with the Omaha Police Department. Her death has shaken our community and our nation. We have stood together to remember this beautiful woman, some by hanging flags and others chose to wear t-shirts that were made in remembrance. My friend Jennifer Clark did a wonderful job writing about Kerrie in her blog last week, I’d like to follow up with some thoughts.

As I have watched the television coverage this weekend, I kept wondering how her husband was doing. We haven’t heard much from him yet but today a picture of their newborn baby was posted, showing her wearing a onesie in support of her mommy.

Since I am also a mom, I wonder what Kerrie was thinking those last minutes before she died. Did she know it was her time? Did she think of her family or did she pass so quickly that she didn’t have time to even know? When she met Jesus in Heaven, did she run to Him or did she walk?

Kerrie lived to help others, she knew there was danger in what she did, but she still pressed on. We have seen videos and photos of her helping around the community. She didn’t do this for the accolade, she did it because she loved her job.

You may know how music tends to help me understand my feelings. There is a song by Pentatonix called “Run to You”, here are a few of the lyrics:

I will break down the gates of heaven
A thousand angels stand waiting for me,
Oh, take my heart and I’ll lay down my weapons
Break my shackles to set me free

I’ll run, I’ll run, I’ll run, run to you
I’ll run (I’ll run), I’ll run (I’ll run), I’ll run, run to you”

 

Kerrie didn’t have time to say goodbye, she didn’t get to bring her newborn baby home from the hospital. We don’t know whether she ran or if she walked to God as He stood at the gates of Heaven.

OrozcoToday, Tuesday May 26th, Kerrie will be laid to rest in a funeral service that hundreds, maybe even thousands will attend. A city hurts, a family mourns yet there is peace. There is no fighting, no anger, no riots, just a community of people to support one another.

The only guarantee that we have is today, not tomorrow. Why waste one more second of our lives by holding on to any pain, resentment or anger. We should carry on the legacy of those who have gone before us by being strong, courageous and Godly.

Thank you Kerrie for your service. You are a hero, I can only hope to be half of the woman that you were.

Lord, break my shackles and set me free so when it is my time to meet you, I am ready to sprint.

Running to God during these difficult times,

Carey Oswald

2 thoughts on “I Will Run To You….. In Memory of Kerrie Orozco

Leave a Reply

