Laughter

Last night I had a million things to do.  It was the night before the second week of VBS that I direct for our church and I had a short list of things that needed attending.  The laundry keeps piling up in our busy house.  I need to sort through some old photos for a project I am working on.  I have emails to send and details that need attending for various work projects.  All of these things were on my evening ‘to do’ list.  But when I got home both of my daughters were sitting in the living room chatting about various things and feeling too lazy to do anything themselves.  So I joined them, and we laughed.

We chatted about random things from show choir to social media to busy plans and college and work complaints and boys and camps and music and so much other things.  And we laughed.  We laughed a lot.  And I really needed that.  It has been a long month, packed with busy activities and big events and tragic loss and them more busy days.  There have been days when I feel like I didn’t even have time to breathe.  It would seem we have had more than our share recently, but I know that isn’t my place to say.  God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.  He holds us up through the hardest struggles and the stressful times.  And He gives us evenings like last night, filled with silly laughter and smiles, to get us through.

The Bible tells us in Psalm 30:5 that “Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes in the morning.”  Through the past two weeks as I have struggled with the grief from my mother’s passing, I keep thinking of this verse in those times that I do find to smile.  There are moments when it seems so far away and then there are the times like last night when the laughter comes freely.  This is the process, as I know it should be, no different than any other time in life with ups and downs, tears and laughter, joy and sadness.

I don’t have too many more nights like this with these two young ladies.  One goes off to college this fall and the other will follow a year after.  They don’t always have time for me anymore, or the desire to spend time with me anymore.  As they grow, so do their interests and activities and that is as it should be.  But for last night, we spent time together laughing, and smiling.  And I will take those moments however they come.

Taking time to laugh,

Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

