Only Words

It was a “God Reminder”; a good reminder from God to me. I attended a wedding reception recently for a wonderful Christian couple and as we stood in the receiving line I began conversing with the woman next to me. Discussing our connection to the couple Susie shared that she worked with the bride previously and although just co-workers Susie confided “I considered her my mentor. She may not have known it but I learned so much from her.  I watched her interact with people and listened as she talked. Even on the phone her demeanor was always one of genuine concern and care. It was kindness in action. I gained so much from that because it changed my attitude. I wanted to be like that and I am grateful for her example.”voices1

1 Peter 4:11 says, If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

My newly married friend is truly kind and compassionate. She goes about life in a quiet way that speaks volumes and I have much to learn from that. We as our Savior’s representatives are to be “Christ with skin on” and hers is a beautiful example. It is truly second nature to her. She never draws attention to herself, but always focuses on others. Yet others do see that; they feel that and like the co-worker are changed because of that. [Hello! Does this sound familiar to you? Meet Jesus. Make a friend. Make a difference.]

So many times we question. What can I do? What do I say? How can I serve? I’m nothing special, so ordinary. We make light of our gifts and talents and constantly compare ourselves to others, but here it is like the adage states: “Preach the gospel always and if necessary use words.”

Wow can it be a simple as that? Yes. Sometimes it is doing our job, not just because it is a job, but because our employer is Christ; we are working for him, reflecting him. Remember St. Luke’s observation in Acts 4:13? The people saw Peter and John; listened to them and were changed “they took note that these men had been with Jesus.”  What does my life, my speech, my actions say? What reflection do I give? Do people know that I’ve been with Jesus? Or worse even wonder if I’ve been anywhere at all?

Think about it. Christ’s life – His attSilenceitude was of a servant. The night before he died his greatest sermon on humility was washing his disciple’s feet. When he could have lashed out, he was silent. When he could have shaken his head at ignorance, he taught and explained – over and over again. He shared. Yes he healed, but first he loved. What a beautiful example my friend is of her Savior’s love. Her words and manner expressed that. Can we do any less?

 

Blessings as you reach out in thought and word.

Doneta

Leave a Reply

