Unplugged

disconnected-11392653

Have you seen it? It’s out there and if may seem strange to post this on a web site and risk alienating others, it is what it is, but here it goes.

My sister saw it at Cabela’s:        (www.MydisconnectDay.com)

 

I (Your name) PLEDGE to myself and to my family for which I stand, that for one day I will unplug it, power it off and shut it down in order to look up and look around.

I will set aside the small screen to once again see the big picture. On this day I will not use any smart phones, tablets, phablets, desktops, laptops, notebooks, video chats, instant messaging, emails, tweets, grams that are instant, links that are in or faces that have been booked.

And most of all I pledge to get my head out of my app, with liberty and just us for all.

So there it is and I am blogging about it. Strange? Yes. I realize electronic media is here to stay. I acknowledge it can save time and there are multiple aspects, not to mention medical and biblical data that can be resourced in seconds. I am not saying do away with it or put it down completely. When I read that the average time spent on Facebook is 45 minutes it made me stop and ask – was it all necessary or productive?

I am suggesting that this electronic phobia can be all consuming to the point that we’ve forgotten to look up into the faces and better yet the hearts that are a part of our daily lives. Has it become more convenient to distance ourselves with our devices then to have a physical conversation with someone? Have we have lost the art of (heaven forbid) the written word as on paper, notes, cards?

I email. I blog. I connect via internet. You do too, but not every minute of every day, so I challenge you to take the pledge. For one day. Reacquaint yourself with your family and friends. Sit down face to face; take a walk; share a cup of coffee relearn their voice. Listen to their joys and let your ears hear their sorrows. Engage yourselves in a conversation, or perhaps sit in silence – watch fireflies, marvel at a sunset, listen to crickets on a summer evening. You may just discover hearts and lives that need a human touch. Slow down pick up God’s word, leaf through the pages and re-read His love story all over again. Know and realize that He waits for your presence. Meet Him in the morning. Converse during the afternoon. Share at the close of your day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Praying with you as you rediscover the gift of silence and not expecting anyone to “like” or “comment”.

Blessings, Doneta

Psalm 107:28-30New International Version (NIV)

28 Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble,
    and he brought them out of their distress.
29 He stilled the storm to a whisper;
    the waves of the sea[a] were hushed.
30 They were glad when it grew calm,
    and he guided them to their desired haven.

One thought on “Unplugged

Leave a Reply

