PRAISING HIM THROUGH LOSS

Today Paige Oswald fills in for her mother, writing about a very personal and emotional moment in her life this past weekend.

A few days ago on July 18th while at work, I received a message from my mom saying that I needed to call her as soon as possible.  During a free moment I called my mom and she informed me that a classmate in my grade who was a friend of mine took her own life.  I was instantly crushed and my supervisor let me go home an hour later.

As soon as my parents pulled up, I found myself embraced in my mom’s arms and I couldn’t stop the tears from flowing. Driving home all I could do was ask God “Why was this happening?  Why did this girl have to leave this Earth?”  If I was asked if I have doubted God in my faith journey, that moment on Saturday would have been one of those times. Why would God allow such a thing to happen to a young girl?  She brought so much happiness into the lives of others and so much love.  My mom said she couldn’t answer those questions because she didn’t know the answers herself.

E and P

As the afternoon became evening, I felt better.  I didn’t cry again until I was getting ready to go to bed.  I was looking through all my contacts on my phone and then I came across her name. I clicked on her name and just about broke down when I saw her picture staring back at me with that funny smirk she always had.  I realized then that I would never hear from her or talk to her ever again.  She will never be able to drive (because she wasn’t 16 yet), she won’t graduate high school or get married and have kids someday.  She will never get to experience a life past this point.  These crazy, but true, facts got to me.

On Sunday I got up for church earlier than usual because I was restless.  When we got to church, I was expecting more familiar songs, the kind we normally sang.  But that day, they played a new song by Hillsong UNITED called “Even When It Hurts”.  Here are a few lines of the song:

Even when my strength is lost

I’ll praise You

Even when I have no song

I’ll praise You

Even when it’s hard to find the words

Louder then I’ll sing Your praise

This song gave me peace.  It pulled me into the direction that God needed me to be in.  Yes, I still don’t understand why bad things happen to people, especially to those who don’t deserve it.  But I know for a fact that counting on God and trusting Him though each and every situation will not only benefit you, but those around you as well.

Over the last few days, I have lost my strength and I don’t have the words to explain what happened with my friend.  But what I can look forward to each day is that God will be there.  He will always be there, both in the good and the bad.  And that is a good enough reason to praise my God.

I have found a perfect Bible verse to cling to during this time which I hope will also be inspirational to whomever is reading this blog:

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:6-7

1 Peter

Praising the Lord always,

Paige Oswald

The video link below is the song “Even When it Hurts”.  I hope you find inspiration in the lyrics if you are currently in pain, struggling or hurting.

6 thoughts on “PRAISING HIM THROUGH LOSS

  1. Thank you for sharing your story Paige! I can’t imagine the pain you are feeling but am amazed how you lean on God in your time of need. You and her family will be in my prayers.

  2. Beautifully written. 8 1/2 years ago, our son took his life at age 21. There were and still are so many unanswered questions! What I realized is that God wants us to trust in Him and He uses tragedy to bring us closer to Him. God would not have planned this, but He uses it for good. Here on earth we want to control and understand everything, but our God wants us to know that we can TRUST in His plan. His plan is always perfect in ways we could not ever imagine. I am so sorry for your loss of a dear friend. People may make upsetting judgements about your friend as they did our son, but hold strong to your memories of the great friend that you knew and loved. It was at these times that God led me to Luke 23:24. Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Jesus was telling me to forgive them for they did not know what they were saying.

    It is my prayer that God shows you His goodness, His tenderheartedness, and His love in this storm of emotion. I encourage you to look around, pay attention to the details, and praise Him. It is in this time that you will see God’s glory at work in you and in others. May God richly bless you and your friend’s family on this journey.

  3. Pingback: Praising Him Through The Loss – Part II | Beautiful Savior, Beautiful Women

Leave a Reply

