Think Green

kermit

Think green.  Think Mean Joe Green; think the Green Monster; think shamrocks; think greenbacks; think emeralds; think grass; think the Jolly Green Giant; think Kermit.

Now think green with envy.

Are you jealous of your friends’ overflowing closets?  Have you yearned for your neighbor’s brand new car?  Have many times a day do you wish your significant other had the characteristics of your best friend’s spouse?  Is it difficult looking out your window at the house across the street with the pristine lawn and gorgeous landscaping which features an inground pool?  Do you get tired hearing about the in-laws’ perfect kids?  Do you wish you could buy a living room set just like Brooke Shields hawks on TV?  How can you live without that Alaskan cruise your lunch buddy still reminisces about six months later?  Why can’t you have Husker football season tickets?  Are you weary of hearing about your relative’s children leaps up the corporate ladder?

Stop.  Stop right now.

Consider these words from Lysa Terkeurst in her book Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl.

Think of something you want that someone else has.  Have you been lured into thinking, If only I had ____________________like that person, my life would be great!

Now, practice redirecting those thoughts by saying instead:

I am not equipped for her good.

I am not equipped for her bad.

I am not equipped to carry the weight of her victories.

I am not equipped to shoulder her burdens.

I am not equipped to be her in any way.

I am, however, perfectly equipped to be me.

Therefore, thank You, God, for only entrusting me with what I have and who I am.

I don’t know what goes on behind closed doors.  I don’t know what another person is feeling or thinking or enduring.  I do know, as Ms. Terkeurst states, that God entrusted me with what I have and who I am.  His blessings to me are immeasurable and countless.  I need to work on “me” and recognize I am not equipped to be anyone else.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “Think Green

Leave a Reply

