Life

“My life is precious for being less certain and I am richer for being poorer” R Poldark.  For 8-weeks this summer I immersed myself in a PBS series called POLDARK. It is the saga of overcoming the odds and dealing with the harshness of early English life. The hero faces the ongoing struggle of re-establishing his home and reclaiming in rightful place in the village of Cornwell. It is good vs. evil – the poor wrestling against the wealthy and arrogant.

The opening words were spoken by the main character in response to the question, “Do you not sometime want for more?”

This made me stop, pen down that snippet of dialogue and later explore its meaning.

As Christians we know God has not given us all the details. He does not provide a complete outline (or even the bullet points when I have asked).  As His child even though I don’t know what the future holds, I do know who hold the future. Yes, it can be difficult to say the gift of each day is precious because I “don’t know”, but it encourages me to rely on my God who does know and allows me to rest in His hand. God reminds me. “My grace is sufficient for you” 2 Cor 12:9. So I take the treasure of every day lovingly given by my Maker and realize that each sunrise holds a blessing to be appreciated.

But then there’s that line: “I am richer for being poorer”… Well that weighed on my heart. I do attempt to thank God for what I have (some days I fail miserably), but I had to ask myself, “Doneta do you thank God for what you ­­don’t have?contentment1

My Father extends His grace and mercy each hour and He wisely refrains from blessing every request I lift to Him be it spoken word or unconscious thought. Can I honestly admit to gratefulness?

  • For not getting that job or promotion, because you knew Lord it would involve more stress, more hours in my already crazy schedule?
  • For not having the larger house or newer car, which would have limited my financial support of your kingdom?
  • For not being able to take the expensive vacation because it freed time and resources to devote to mission outreach?

We exclaim with the words of the Psalmist and invite others to “come before Him with thanksgiving”, but do we pause and realize the treasures we have not being granted everything?

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever. “ 1 Chron 16:34

Lord, I may not know where each day will take me, but I am assured of my final heavenly destination. Help me to remain thankful for what you give and what you withhold. Amen

Yes! Life is precious in its uncertainty and I am richer for being poorer.

Blessings, Doneta

Give Thanks

One thought on “Life

  1. “He does not provide a complete outline (or even the bullet points when I have asked).” – what an awesome thought this morning. God knew just what you needed to share. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

