Because I Said So

because I said soI’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve said it.

Because I said so!

Too often I find that phrase coming out of my mouth when I am in a stalemate with one of my children. Inevitably, they’ve asked “why” or questioned my decision. Some days I think they are trying to become the greatest negotiators or hagglers in the world.

Because I said so. 

It’s a go-to phrase that I’m sure I probably said I would NEVER use, since my parents did. But now that I’m a parent, I seem to have embraced the phrase.

Sometimes I utter it out of frustration. The constant “why” or questioning has worn me down and I just don’t want to deal with it any longer. Throwing the phrase at them is an attempt to make the crazy calm down. Unfortunately, it doesn’t always work.

But there are other times. There are times when I just need to be definitive with them, and they need to know that I am the parent. I have their best interests at heart and want to keep them safe. As parents we make choices, the correct response to them is because I said so. 

I wonder if God feels a bit like that with us sometimes. Our wandering, wayward hearts lead us astray so frequently.

This week, I’ve been starting to read and consider a chapter of Genesis each day, and I’ve come to the story of Noah. Here was Noah, living his life with his family when God stops him in his tracks.

I’m sick of this….I’m wiping out these people….except for you and your family. Go build a big boat, get a lot of animals, and trust me. Because I said so. 

Know what? Noah was okay with that answer.

Noah was obedient to what God wanted him to do. It sounds to our worldly ears like a whole lot of crazy. Build an ark? It isn’t raining. There’s no ocean here!

Scriptures don’t show that Noah argued with God….he did was he was told because he was obedient to God and he trusted his authority.

Now there’s some convicting stuff. How often do I try to haggle with God on a direction or path in my life? Or when I want to get out of a situation or trial that is bogging me down? Instead, maybe I need to consider….

God’s bigger plan

that God has my best interests at heart

that I need to turn my heart to His in obedience

because He said so.

As a parent, it’s easy to say that my children should obey my leadership. As adults, it’s a more difficult pill to swallow to be obedient to our God when so much distracts us and makes us believe that our needs should come first.

Obedience is a radical thing in a world that is filled with independence (don’t I know!) and a “can-do” spirit. But obedience can be freeing. Think about our kids – we want them to obey the rules we set up so they don’t get physically or emotionally hurt and learn to respect authority. How is it any different for us as God-followers? God gives us so much freedom – and we should be using that freedom to obey His call and his command.

Try practicing some radical obedience this week…..because God said so.

In Christ,

Jen Clark

One thought on “Because I Said So

Leave a Reply

