A Baby Shower

babyshower

I’ve been invited to a baby shower.  One of the school’s English teachers, sweet mother Mary, is having her first child, a little girl.  After numerous attempts to conceive, success was achieved.   God truly works miracles.

I’m not a shopper, but I know a 30% off coupon when I see one.  So off I go and I spot a cute little ballerina outfit for the cherub.  The top has the words ‘Sparkle Like a Star’ imprinted on it.  I will include some Bible verses with that gift.  Perhaps Matthew 5:16   “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”  or Psalms 119:105 “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” or  Zechariah 147:45 “The LORD their God will save his people on that day as a shepherd saves his flock. They will sparkle in his land like jewels in a crown.”

And then I see thee gift of all gifts:  a pair of crabby pants!  Simply adorable.  The little leggings are a deep grey with smiling orange crabs all over them.  Every female needs a pair of these.  While checking out, I mention to the clerk the pants were a baby shower present.  The customer waiting in line behind me stated she wanted a pair of those.  Did they come in her size?  We all three chuckled.

This conversation got me to thinking about Eve, the mother of all females.  Ponder being pregnant with no Mom or mother-in-law around to offer (un)wanted advice.  You don’t have an ob-gyn; you don’t have a nurse.  You’ve got a partner who is, through no fault of his own, pretty much worthless.   No birthing room; no hospital.  What was going through Eve’s mind as her body swelled and her hormones kicked into high gear?  There were no other females to talk to about labor pains.  Imagine her confusion the first time the baby kicked and rocked her world.  She can’t refer to the book What To Expect When You’re Expecting.  Was the world’s first prayer the scream, “Help me Lord!”, as Cain was delivered?  Yes, indeed, Eve is a likely candidate for crabby pants.

Or how about Noah’s wife?  Let’s call her Yesah.  Your husband comes home and says he’s building an ark because God is sending a gigantic flood to destroy the world.  Yeah, right!…no more bedtime wine for you Babe.  Eventually you’re convinced and now you realize you get to plan an extended “vaca” for your family and lots and lots of animals.  You gather supplies.  Were earphones or nose plugs available back then?  Imagine the cacophony of noise and the plethora of smells.  How much food does Yesah need to pack – not just for human consumption but also for the animals?  Man, I will happily buy this woman a pair of crabby pants.  Oh, but there’s more for Yesah.  Once she departs from the ark she gets to start all over again building a house and home.

Then there is me.  OK.  We’re not going there, but I do know on any given day I’m a perfect candidate for a pair of crabby pants.

How about you?

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

3 thoughts on “A Baby Shower

Leave a Reply

