Focus

We lead such busy lives today that sometimes it seems everything is on a schedule.  There is no free time, no quiet time, no down time … it is just go, go, go all the time.  There is always more work to be done, more friends to be with, more places to go, more, more, more.  We all fall victim to the idea that is how things are supposed to be.  We believe that is how everyone is.

Recently, I received some news that pretty much made all the insignificant things on my schedule simply fade away.  It’s been something that has changed the focus in my life dramatically, and it wasn’t until this happened that I realized just how far off track I really had gotten.  That extra time at work instead of home wasn’t that important.  Those TV shows to watch simply didn’t matter.  That book didn’t need to get read so quickly.  That email did not need to be answered right away.  There are things more important that need attending to.  There are people more important that need attention.  I stand here now trying to understand just when or how things shifted to that balance.  I wish that I could pinpoint a time or a reason, but it’s one of the slow fades that happens in this sinful world.  I have struggled to understand and accept this, but I have not struggled with what to do about it.

I have been chasing things of the world, and not things of God.  I have been listening to the ways of the world, and not the word of God.  I have been looking at me and not Him.  What it all boils down to is that my focus was not in the right place.  It was everywhere but where it should have been … on God.  For me to admit that is hard, as I work in a church.  We staffers are supposed to have it all together, right?  Wrong!  We are all broken and sinful humans.  None of us is free from the lies of the enemy and they are so easy to listen to, so easy to turn to, so easy to do.

My confirmation verse is one I turn to time and again these days.  Matthew 6:33 tells us to “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be yours also.”  My wake-up call came in the form of a life event that I wouldn’t wish on anyone.  It’s something that I am still struggling through.  But I know that it has helped my life as a Christian as it has turned my focus back to where it needs to be, on God, on His word, on His wishes for my life.  And it is amazing all the pieces of life that do fall into place when you re-vision something like that.  That focus helps me as I strive to follow Him.

Seeking Him first,

Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

