Name Calling….When Will It Stop?!

This week my daughter was called something, a name that was so unlike her.  If you know her, you would be as shocked as I was.  I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard it.  I would have expected something else such as independent or shy.

My daughter was called superficial.  I looked up the meaning of that word and it means: shallow, skin deep and artificial.

I remember being her age once and I also remember being called names by classmates.  This time it didn’t come from a teen but from an adult.  Someone that hardly knows her, someone who has no idea how much it bothered my daughter or her parents.

My first instinct was to call the adult and defend my daughter.  Honestly, I was ready to explode.

Then I had to take some deep breathes and remember that I will not always be there to protect my children.  I have to guide them and teach them how to do right by God.  How to be forgiving of this person without an apology.

Our society today seems to be okay with name calling and labeling.  Just take a look at Facebook.  How many times do you see names being thrown out there about football players and coaches?  What are our kids learning from us when we yell at the TV and call the President names?  What about the shows we watch?

When will the name calling stop?  What if we acted like God with skin on like he asks us to?  Could we live a life following Him like He commands?

I know I sin, I know I fall short constantly.  But if you are reading this today, I am asking you to do one favor.  Think about the names you call others in front of your kids.  Why?  Because you are teaching them to grow up as adults who call others names.  It’s not okay.

My daughter knows she is nothing close to the name she was called, but how many other young woman in our country are called worse names and actually believe them?

I read a quote tonight that really stuck out in my mind, “We are more than the names we are called”.  So very true isn’t it?

Calling on the name of Jesus,

Carey Oswald

 

Ephesians 4:31-32

Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.  Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

 

Leave a Reply

