Bad Habits – Say Good Bye

habitsBye-Bye Bad Habits. It was the title of an article I read recently; how to “Better Your Life by Breaking Bad Habits” because as we know full well bad habits have the potential to negatively impact the most important areas of your life from your health to your career to your relationships.

It gave a few tricks that would help you stick to your goal:

Acknowledge Your Habit

Awareness of when and why you are doing whatever it is rather than being in denial

Look To The Future

Focus on the long-term goal when you feel overwhelmed

Change Your Environment

Too much technology? Try unplugging or removing it. Out of sight. Out of mind

Substitute A Better Behavior

If it’s junk food, try something healthier

Hold Yourself Accountable

Track your record to see improvement, or enlist a friend for support

Count On Failure

Accept that you are not perfect; acknowledge the mistake and begin again

Of course each area was more involved and I’m only giving the highlights, but it made me realize that God’s handbook covers each of those steps; and those habits? He calls them sins: So consider this:

Acknowledge Your Habit

Ps 32:5 I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, I will confess my transgressions to the Lord; and You forgave the guilt of my sin.

Look To The Future

Philippians 3: 12-14 Not that I have already obtained all this…forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead; I press on to the goal to win the prize.

Change Your Environment (Mindset)

Romans 15:5 May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had.

Substitute A Better Behavior

Colossians 3:10 Put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.

Hold yourself accountable

Hebrews 10:24-25 Le us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another.

Count On Failure

Ps 130:4 but with you there is forgiveness, so that we can with reverence, serve you.

Breaking habits can be difficult and it takes courage (in Christ). So I leave you with a favorite quote of mine:

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes it’s the quiet voice at the end of the day that says “I’ll try again tomorrow.”  Phil 4:13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Blessings, Doneta

Leave a Reply

