I am thankful

This week our nation celebrates the Thanksgiving holiday.  One where we gather with our families and give thanks for all the blessings we have.  For me, this year has been difficult, the most difficult that I have faced in a very long time.  I know that there are many others out there struggling as much or more than I am.  This year may have held loss of loved ones, broken marriages, hurting children, financial struggles, job loss, faith struggles, depression, damaged friendships, self-doubt, or so many other things that make it difficult for our human brokenness to find thankfulness in.  The negative seems to tidal wave over the good and as those waves break on the shore, it’s as if they wash away the remains of the blessings in our minds.

So, today, this week, hopefully longer, I am choosing to focus on the things I am thankful for.  There are so many – too many to list them all here when I stop to think about it.  When I focus on those blessings, the tidal wave is not so overwhelming.  That’s where my heart needs to stay more often.  Psalm 9:1 says, “I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.”

I am thankful for unexpected hugs from my son and long talks with my daughters that remind me just how much I love them.

I am thankful for weeds that look like flowers to remind me there is beauty in everything.

I am thankful for a job that makes me smile and co-workers that warm my heart because they remind me how joyful working for a purpose can be.

I am thankful for seasons to remind me that change can be welcome.

I am thankful for family that is there whether you need them or not to remind me that God gives us people here on earth that are always on our side.

I am thankful for sunsets that remind me how stunning this world can be.

I am thankful for long conversations with old friends that remind me that some bonds never really break.

I am thankful for mornings that tell me that God isn’t finished with me yet.

I am thankful for evenings that show me God gives me rest when needed.

I am thankful for being hurt because it gives me a chance to forgive.

I am thankful for sadness that makes me appreciate the joy more.

I am thankful for loss that makes me hold on tighter to the things I value.

I am thankful for laughter that makes simply everything better.

I am thankful for my Bible that gives me a roadmap through this adventure of life.

I am thankful for a God that loves and forgives me no matter how many times I forget to be thankful for Him and walk in His ways.

I am just thankful,

Dina Newsom

One thought on “I am thankful

Leave a Reply

