Thanksgiving Thoughts

Ah. A week ago I was looking forward to seeing my sisters. This year I wouldn’t have to travel far; just a hop, skip and a jump to Elkhorn, my nephew’s new home. This is a favorite time of mine; a day about giving thanks, family, friends and food.

thankfulness

And then the weather hit. My sisters could not come due to the ice and snow. My heart deflated, but honestly would I want them traveling in questionable road conditions? No, still I was a bit sad and then God tapped me on the shoulder with blessings that I may not have experienced. Without my sisters I had time to visit and listen to Shirley (Nana) the 94 year old grandmother/great-grandmother who shared a rice casserole recipe with me. I talked a length with my older brother and my sister-in-law about their upcoming retirement and the plans they were making. I traded conversations with three other beautiful women about jobs, families, seasons of loss, seasons of growth.

In short I learned the blessings of tuning my ears to the joys and heartaches of others. I closed my eyes and listened to the sounds of a home – children racing around – voices debating a football play – laughter of a shared joke – several cooks fussing over fragrant dishes that covered the kitchen island. I smelled roasting turkey, sage, cranberries and oranges. I observed other sisters trading recipes and techniques of green bean casseroles, the perfect dressing, while they relived memories of earlier Thanksgiving Days, all the while nodding in agreement. I watched smiles over cups of coffee and bites of pie.

God showed me a family full of love and life. Wow Lord another new experience. My eyes teared and I said a prayer of thanksgiving. Thank you Lord. I am blessed.

Wishing you blessings and memories as we enter Advent and preparing of our hearts for Jesus.

Doneta

One thought on “Thanksgiving Thoughts

Leave a Reply

