Obedient feet

ObedientFeetDid you ever sense God calling you to do something, to go somewhere, but you just didn’t want to do it? That’s what I’m struggling with right now, or should I say “again”? My feet are moving slowly (and this not solely because of a bum hip). I’m just not on board with the plan that I sense God is leading me to go through. But no matter how I feel, I’m going to move forward. I’m going to do it. Perhaps slowly and not altogether willingly, but I am going to choose to be obedient. I’m going to choose to see this as an answer to prayer, and a real blessing.

We sold our house recently. 22 years. So many memories. So many things. Ugh. So much work! And not only do we have to move once, but twice, because the house we’re going to be moving into hasn’t even been finished on paper yet! This does not sound appealing. Besides, it interrupted my plans. Hah! My paltry plans! I was thinking the end of January would be a good time to have hip surgery, since I can’t do a lot outside anyways. But now…who knows? Well, God knows, that’s who. And, I have chosen to simply be obedient. C’mon feet, get going!

Makes me think of someone else who had obedient feet: Mary. Shortly after Mary became pregnant with God’s Son, she “got ready and hurried to a town in the hill country of Judea” to share her excitement with someone who would understand, her relative Elizabeth. Obedient feet, right? Then, shortly before Jesus’ birth, Emperor Augustus decided to hold a census–to collect taxes, of course–meaning Mary and Joseph would need to travel to Bethlehem, about 70-80 miles from Nazareth. Once again, obedient feet. Perhaps Mary and Joseph weren’t feeling it, either. Think about it, nine months pregnant and traveling 3 to 4 days? Not fun. But God had such an amazing plan, including miraculous choirs in the sky, shepherds visiting at all hours of the night, Magi following a star in the sky for months on end going who-knows-where, an angel keeping them safe from King Herod…just think of all the obedient feet in this sentence!

Jesus had the most obedient feet ever, for His feet took Him to the cross at Golgatha, where He died to take away the sins of the whole world. But His journey didn’t end there–His feet didn’t stop. Jesus rose from the grave to meet Mary Magdalene and Mary, the disciples and many others over the next 40 days, continuing to remind all that He met of God’s wonderful and perfect plans and of His great love.

So, despite my slow-moving feet, I choose to obey God’s leading and go, sometimes forcing myself to walk forward. But in my heart, I trust that God has just as good a plan for my life as He did for Mary…and Elizabeth…and Joseph…and Jesus…

…as He has for you.

God bless you as you follow God’s leading. May you hear His voice anew this Christmas season, and realize that His love for you reaches to the heavens.

Jenane

LORD, Your faithful love reaches to heaven, Your faithfulness to the clouds. Psalm 36:5

 

 

Leave a Reply

