Favorite Christmas Memories

maxresdefault

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shirley Reinert is out guest author this week, we hope you have enjoyed her blog contributions.

What is your favorite Christmas Memory or Tradition?

It’s the holiday season, and this year I have been invited to more parties than usual.   They have all been fun. I never realized how many different circles of friends and acquaintances I have. There are those close friends that I will be doing a cook exchange with next week. Two different work parties, one with those folks I work closely with daily and the other is a group of people I have the same “work title” as but we have very little contact day to day.   One thing stands out to me… at each party we talk about our favorite Christmas gift or memory.

My favorite Christmas gift memory is from when I was 4 or 5 years old.   I lived in a small rural town. Every Friday night between Thanksgiving and Christmas we went to town for the “ticket drawing”.   A chance for my parents to win prizes if their lucky ticket was drawn.   We would window shop every week. In one store front window was this big white and black stuffed dog. It was the only thing I wanted for Christmas that year.   Imagine how I felt the Friday night the dog in the window was gone.   Crushed. I remember crying because Santa would not be able to bring me that stuffed animal for Christmas. End of the story is that I was one very happy little girl on Christmas Day and still to this day that dog is in the basement of my Mom’s house.

Another Christmas memory and tradition my family has done for as long as I remember is being together on Christmas Eve. When I was young my family, Grandparent’s, aunts and uncles and cousins would all go to Christmas Eve service together.   After the service we would all go to my Great Grandmother’s house for snacks and would exchange small gifts. When Great grandma moved to the nursing home our tradition moved with her.   That tradition continues today at my Mom’s house. Anyone and everyone is invited. It’s a time of fun and laughter. Each year after everyone leaves, Mom and I clean up and watch the Pope’s Christmas message.   It’s our special time together. My grandmother was Catholic and we always share memories of her as we watch the Pope’s message.

I wonder if Mary and Joseph had Christmas traditions. Their first Christmas together was in a manger. The birth of their son, our Savior was born. The shepherds were like me as a child, looking through the manger door waiting for the best gift ever.   The Wise Men traveled miles to meet the new born King.

How does one top that first Christmas memory? What could ever become a tradition compared to that one night?

What do your Christmas memories and tradition involve? Is it family and presents? Big dinners? Parties?   I hope that this year your Christmas tradition focuses on our Savior. The best gift ever given. The gift that is ever giving… love, peace, forgiveness, eternal life.   When asked what your favorite memory or gift has been I hope you will respond by saying Your Savior.   I hope that the next time I share, my heart opens to the chance to share my faith and what Christmas is really all about.

Your Christmas memory can be told as the Angels told the Shepherds in Luke 2: 9-14

“And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An Angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. But the angel said to them “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord. This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.

Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on who his favor rest.”

Stay focused on the best memory of all… the birth of our Savior, Lord Jesus Christ.

Merry Christmas

Shirley Reinert

Leave a Reply

