Clay Pots, Temples and House Calls

In the midst of home maintenance decisions I am faced with a myriad of choices. If I continue to remain in this house then upkeep and repairs need to be addressed. It seemed much simpler years ago when something was installed with a 20-year warranty. Well, no need to think about that for a while and yet the time has passed (all too quickly I think) and I now confront issues alone. Lord, I feel it was so much easier when two of us could plan, decide, bounce ideas off of each other. Now it’s me and I want to be wise about what is done. I want to be a good steward with what You have blessed me with.

Wisdom – that’s what our Monday night bible study has covered lately. So I think yes Lord it’s you and me now. Please give me people who will help me make good decisions. I need to work with qualified, reliable individuals who can do the best job, because I cannot do repairs myself.

As I think of my home it makes me compare the structure to me. The bible refers to our bodies in a variety of descriptions;

Clay pots – Lam 4:2 – How precious the children of Zion…now considered as pots of clay, the work of a potter’s hands!claypot

Houses – 1 Peter 2:5 – You also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house…

Temples – 1 Cor 6:19 – Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?

Just like my home, my body (this earthly tent I live in) needs some upkeep and repairs and if I attempt it myself, well I will not always succeed. I need to rely on some spiritual help. Many times I would more readily compare myself to a clay pot; used, worn, maybe with a few cracks, but not certainly a temple. Yet that is what our Lord calls us – temples!

And residing in that temple? Well, the Holy Spirit who convicts me and makes me accountable, but better still this third person of the trinity can mend, strengthen and not only repair but restore! God is often referred to as the Great Physician who can completely heal.

Thank heavens  He still makes house calls!

house-calls-logo

 

Lord, when I am down, worn out and in need of repairs, come into my heart and make me whole.

Blessings, Doneta

Leave a Reply

