Goodbye, Gretna

GretnaEarly next week my husband and I will be moving on with the the next phase of our lives. This last month has been emotional, exciting, exhausting, painful, and even terrifying at times. There are so many memories to process. I remember building this house: we saved toads from the cement blocks, watched the basement wall collapse due to heavy rains, had friends write Bible verses on the framing. We chose the design especially for our young, growing children. And now, well, it’s just too empty, too big, and has too many stairs.

As you might imagine, we’ve been reminiscing a lot lately. We got to do that as a family when we were all together at the cold, rainy Texas coast over the holidays. (Our little family of five has grown to 12!) What fun the five of us had remembering the occasions we celebrated during our 22 years here: birthdays, confirmations, graduations, engagements, showers, and lately retirement. We talked about the things the kids were involved in while growing up: all of the school concerts and sporting events, drama, show choir, cheer leading, speech competitions, and more. Most importantly, we laughed about special memories, like the one where one child smashed one car into the other while backing out of the garage. We realized that this house has been a real blessing from God. But now it’s time to move on.

Every morning for the last three weeks, I’ve woken up thinking, “This is so hard.” It’s hard going through all of the memories, deciding which things to keep and which to get rid of. It’s hard realizing how much “stuff” we have; I’ve been asking myself “why?” a lot, lately. It’s hard to look again at all of the things we’ve been given from our own parents, now in heaven.

Through all of this, i can’t help but wonder what God has in mind. I am, to quote my good friend and prayer partner, “dragging my feet”– still! I will miss my friends, my church home, my Aunt Nancy and Uncle Lou. Thankfully, we’ll just be an hour away. But I sense that God has a plan, another place for us to go. After all, He has been faithful through the last 22 years. I fully expect Him to continue to be faithful, and to keep helping us grow to be more like Him.

Today I encourage you to remember God’s love and faithfulness. Whatever it is that you’re going through, Jesus promises to walk with you through it. I share this verse below with one reminder: God’s mercies are new every morning. He’s waiting for you to call on His name each and every day. He doesn’t disappoint.

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

God bless you!
Jeanne

 

One thought on “Goodbye, Gretna

  1. God is good! __________ ________ _____________! (Fill in the blank, please)
    Love ‘ ya, but His love is perfect,
    Judy

Leave a Reply

