Glorious Dress

Easter2016The title of this blog might lead you to think that I will be writing about some beautiful clothing. I want to assure you, this has nothing to do with my wardrobe. Or does it?

The last several months have been challenging, to say the least. Without getting into particulars, you should know that there have been 4 major changes in my life over a very short period of time. These changes have been a result of my choices and decisions, but also my prayers. Needless to say, there have been some sleepless nights.

On one such night, I awoke at an early hour feeling very convicted. Some of my past actions and the consequences of those were replaying heavily in my mind. I found myself weeping, feeling very sad and full of shame. I confessed my sins to my Father, and suddenly an old, old song went through my head. (I have to state that it helps to have been an organist for many years; one learns all of the verses to many hymns and worship songs.) This hymn was written 300 years ago:

Jesus, Thy blood and righteousness
My beauty are, my glorious dress;
‘Midst flaming worlds, in these arrayed
With joy shall I lift up my head. (read the entire lyrics here)

Right there in my bed, I pictured Jesus, covered in blood, on His way to the cross. Then I pictured putting on this beautiful robe of righteousness, which has washed me clean. I thought of Paul’s words in Ephesians 6, instructing us to, “put on the armor of God…to stand firm, therefore…” And at that very moment, I spoke out loud that I have joy, not shame, solely because of my Savior Jesus’ death and resurrection. I recalled this verse: “There is now therefore no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” (Romans 8:1) And this: “Behold, I am making all things new.” (Revelation 21:5)

I can–and must–stand in boldness, with no guilt!, as verse 2 of the song instructs. I am washed clean. I am redeemed. The price has been paid. I have been set free from my sin. Set free from fear. Set free from shame, which as you might be able to tell, is a big one for me.

The struggles and troubles in this life are momentary, although they seem so permanent at the time. Ultimately, you and I need only to speak one plea when we stand before the throne of God: “Jesus hath lived and died for me.” He paid the price. The ransom has been made. It is finished.

Thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through His Son, Jesus Christ. He gives us a beautiful, glorious dress–His own blood–which has made us righteous in the Father’s eyes.

God bless you! Christ is risen! He is risen, indeed! Hallelujah!

~Jeanne

Jesus, Thy blood and righteousness youtube

Leave a Reply

