Driving Lessons

warning

I have a new car, well new to me anyway. For the past year and a half I’ve talked to God about my ’98 Honda; still reliable, but approaching 176,000 miles on the odometer. John, my auto tech assured me that I was still “breaking it in”. Doneta, it’s good for 200,000 – 250,000 miles. Yes it has some body issues, but it’s fine.

God worked through that concern in a remarkable way (that’s a whole different blog), and now I have new bells and whistles to learn. I’m comfortable in my newer Honda (they don’t radically change layouts), knowing my lights are still on my left with the wipers and cruise control on the right. This model however, is equipped with a back-up screen and a camera when I am signaling a right turn (still getting used to those), but the most interesting thing is the warning that displays on the screen each time I press the ignition switch. It’s before any clock announcing the time or before any radio station can be heard.

warning2

Warning! The driver of this vehicle is responsible for the safe operation of this vehicle. Use only when traffic conditions are safe. For further details see your owner’s manual. (Then it reminds me to “check your surroundings”)

Wow, what a sobering thought to remember every time I drive: Take this seriously!

We’re all used to warnings; cautions about medications; don’t remove the label from your pillows and some that border on ridiculous, like don’t use the blow dryer on your hair while in the shower. Well with my old car I was conscious about maintaining safe speeds (reference Teresa Hale “You drive like my mother Doneta” and watching the need for fuel economy, but this new warning gave me pause to think how many times I previously would jump in the seat and go because after all I was in a hurry. My day was important and who are all these idiot drivers who are in my way?

Some days my priorities are totally out of whack. (Some days? Too many days) I thought wouldn’t it be great if when I awoke in the morning God would flash a warning about being responsible for my day?

Well, Hello. He already does do that. When I turn the page on my encouragement calendar; when I sit down with my morning devotion; when I open my bible; when I review my prayer list – He reminds me that even though He is in control and in charge of my day, I am charged to do well in it. Not jumping ahead and going full throttle, but being aware of where He places me, and what He wants me to do with the hours He gives me; praying for guidance for what He already has in store. Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do”. It’s my Father admonishing me, “Did you catch that Doneta? Do the good things that I’ve already prepared for you to do. There’s no bargaining here.”

God has His warning/guidance /encouragement system already in place and it serves me well to begin my day with His image foremost on my radar, not mine. Then there’s that secondary caution: “Check your surroundings”. So God asks me, where is your heart? Who are you with? Where are you spending your time? Are you surrounding yourself with positive people who hold you accountable?

Yes my Lord has His warning/GPS system in place for me and I thank Him that He cares when I am lax. He is faithful when I am not. He is reliable when I am weak. He reminds me that He cares for me every step of the way and I need to ask myself “Am I appreciative and do I share that with others in my day? And lastly, the final reminder: For further details consult your owner’s manual. Yes Lord. No phone app, but my bible is on the seat next to me.

Thank you Lord for your eternal guidance system. Remind me not only of who I am, but whose I am. Amen.

Blessings on your navigating this life. Donetawalk2

One thought on “Driving Lessons

Leave a Reply

