When You Walk Through the Storm Lift Your Head Up High

rip

My Mom died on the Ides of March.

When the Pastor asked for sermon text input for her funeral, I suggested words from 2 Timothy, chapter 4. “…the time for my departure is near. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”

This 92 year old woman lived these words. As the pastor noted, she had four sons and her husband precede her in death. She did, indeed, fight a good fight and it was time for her race to be finished.

Mom had the ability to recognize and cherish the unique strengths and talents of each of her grandchildren. For that I thank her.
I will never forget when she introduced my oldest son to French Silk pie. He was sitting in the high chair and she gave him a bite. I swear he experienced heaven on earth. The rapture on his face – – – amazing! I remember taking her to one of my youngest son’s football games. We sat on lawn chairs on the sidelines. She told him to score a touchdown for her and the kid almost ended up on her lap when he crossed the goal line. My daughter would bounce into Mom’s Care Center room with a blood curdling yell, “How are you doing, Beautiful Lady!” Mom would roll her eyes with a giant smile on her face.

My niece recited these words (along with several memories of her grandmother) following the sermon at the funeral.

You’ll Never Walk Alone by Oscar Hammerstein
When you walk through the storm
Hold your head up high,
And don’t be afraid of the dark.
At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark.
Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Though your dreams be tossed and blown.
Walk on, walk on with hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk alone.
You’ll never walk alone.

Rest In Peace Edna Frieda (Martens) Meyer
December 8, 1923-March 15, 2016

(She is) In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “When You Walk Through the Storm Lift Your Head Up High

Leave a Reply

