Down from the mountaintop

IMG_1650It isn’t every week that you get two “mountaintop” experiences in your life.

On Wednesday, I took my 15-year-old son Jacob to his first concert – the Outcry tour with 14,000 other believers. We heard incredible bands like Jesus Culture, Elevation Worship and Hillsong Worship (a bucket list item for me!). In between the pulse-pounding music, we heard from Brian Huston, the global senior pastor of Hillsong Church, straight from Australia. He reminded those attending that Jesus life and death weren’t usual – they were the epitome of unusual. And as Christ-followers, our lives and passions and callings are meant to follow in that pattern of the unusual. In today’s culture that wants us to conform to the norm, the message of being unusual greatly resonated with me (and with Jacob).

As Friday rolled around, I was blessed to spend time at Living Proof Live with Beth Moore and 4,500 women. Her study focused on the art of growing up spiritually, reminding us that at whatever stage of spiritual growth we are, we are dearly loved children of God. 

The commonality between both of these amazing experiences was this idea of how we each are a unique, loved child of God with a purpose and calling for our lives.

But tell me, sister or brother – how often do we NOT feel like we are dearly loved? How often do we feel like we have no purpose or that we’re flailing in a sea of insignificance?

IMG_1630I look at my own life, and can see how so many of my conflicts, perceptions and problems have been rooted in my own insecurities, my feelings of inadequacy and my lack of focus on my calling. Can you relate to falling into this trap?

If I have so little faith that I am truly loved, truly cherished, and truly full of purpose, then I am missing out on the calling and amazing adventure in this life that God has created me for on this earth.

Maybe you’re just coming off a similar mountaintop experience right now. And maybe real life crashed into you like a tidal wave and brought you back to fear, doubt and insecurity instead of faith, hope and purpose. If you’re there, sister or brother, let me encourage you not with my words, but with what the Word says.

You are precious. “Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give people in exchange for you, nations in exchange for your life. Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west.” – Isaiah 43:3-5

You are loved. “This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” – 1 John 4:9-10

God knows not just your name, but your inner being and your deepest and most intimate thoughts. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” – Psalm 139: 13-16

Do you take God at His Word? My prayer today is that you do, knowing his deep love for you and how he has called your name into a great purpose and adventure!

In Christ,

Jen Clark

 

Leave a Reply

