TEMPTATION

temptation

In a recent sermon Pastor Elliott highlighted three tools to use when overcoming temptation. Each tool addresses actions a Christian can implement when fighting the devil and his lures, his schemes, his deceptions.

1. Pray. When God has your back, when you let him lead you, when you “lump and dump” on his shoulders, your burdens lessen and you become stronger to fight temptation.

2. Immerse yourself in God’s word. Whether it’s in a church setting or sitting in your comfy chair at home, let the message enter your body, heart and soul. Let the message massage you…… I couldn’t resist – just had one last week.

3. Seek to deliver yourself from temptation by acquiring an accountability partner. This individual is like the good angel on your shoulder. You share what’s on your mind and with the help of a fellow Christian you analyze your thoughts and actions. This accountability partner performs a role similar to a parent. It’s all about communication.

Pastor Elliott didn’t mention an additional tool when overcoming temptation: the moral compass. Hopefully, you have been taught right from wrong. You possess common sense and the ability to logically foresee the consequences of falling into temptation.

Bible passages to help overcome temptation:

In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears. Psalm 18:6

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. James 5:16

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him and he with me. Revelation 3:20

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any [man] pluck them out of my hand. John 10:27-28

As one piece of iron sharpens another, so friends keep each other sharp. Proverbs 27:17

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

