The Vision is yet for an Appointed Time

GodIsInControl1

Pastor Keith frequently used the phrase “broken world” during our Flat Out Fun Life Group’s discussions. Sorrows shatter; pain persists; misery multiplies; friendships fade; the cookie crumbles. The earth is going to hell in a hand basket.

What’s your latest dilemma? What’s eating at your heart? What’s causing your tossing and turning at night? What’s challenging your serenity? What’s got you down in the dumps? What’s the reason for the scowl, the frown? It’d be easy for me to tell you to take a chill pill. I’m not walking in your shoes.

Years ago I worked with an elderly lady. She possessed wisdom, strength, class and dignity. Some days she was the best reason to go to work. I could share any issue with her and I knew I could trust her implicitly. I could count on her to care and ponder my problems. She’d think before she talked. I tried to be there for her too. I’d like to think we had a mutual admiration society.

I’m a Mom. Moms fret and strew; we worry and sigh. I cannot remember the exact dilemma I shared with my friend one work day. It doesn’t matter what the drama du jour revolved around. My friend listened to me and the next day she handed me a note on which she had written the words, “Habakkuk 2:3 (KJV) For the vision is yet for an appointed time, but at the end it shall speak, and not lie: though it tarry, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.” I keep this note in my purse.

RuthsVerse2

Go figure – Habakkuk? I’ll be honest here. It’s not a book in the Bible I turn to often. The verse helped me to see I need to wait for the resolution to my problems. God has plans for me and I need to realize God’s got my back; He’s got this all under control.

Psalm 46:10 (NIV) Be still, and know that I am God.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

