On Your Mark, Get Set, Go

Mark.

Students get marks on their homework and test papers. Sometimes marks are made in red ink – as I recall, these might be for unsatisfactory performance…and no, I’m not saying that I might have gotten a red mark or two, and I’m not saying I didn’t. Mom and Dad may read between the lines that their cherub is not performing up to potential. This more than likely will lead to a chat.

Holocaust survivors wear marks on their arms. The individual had been signaled out as an outcast – doomed. I keep telling myself God had a plan; God had a plan. He had a plan. But the elimination of so many by the actions of so few is mind boggling.
Marks (brands) on cattle and other livestock indicate ownership.

Punctuation marks help to assure clear reading of a particular passage. Check out the keyboard for other marks: !@#$%^&*()_+ and there’s also {}|:”><. Each serves a purpose.

I’ve got a cousin named Mark.

There’s the mark stamped on your hand to allow admission to an event.

Tattoos mark one’s skin. My daughter recently had the words “may angels lead you in” tattooed on her shoulder. She is suffering from a recent loss and hopes to be met at the pearly gates by her boyfriend with a big bear hug. She also has her confirmation verse, Psalm 119:105, “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path” on the top of her foot. Not a tattoo fan – but these two make sense.

Since I am a female I suppose I should mention those two words: stretch marks.

How are Christians marked? It’s how you choose to present outwardly what’s inside your heart. Remember the Sunday School song, “I’ve got the love of Jesus, love of Jesus down in my heart”. Jesus’ love needs opportunities to grow (God’s Word – communion – Christian fellowship – prayer). SHARE THAT LOVE! LET YOUR LIGHT SHINE! MAY YOUR OUTWARD ACTIONS CEMENT YOUR MARK AS A CHILD OF GOD.

marked

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “On Your Mark, Get Set, Go

Leave a Reply

