I took our puppy to the vet last week.

IMG_0249

I took our puppy to the vet last week. Arabella Jordan wasn’t too confident in the car; she had to snuggle up to me and kept trying to get out the window. She was in unfamiliar surroundings. She didn’t have her kennel mate (10-year old Grace) nearby. She didn’t have her master there to hold her as I drove. She was in a word: anxious.

Arabella finally relaxed. She lay down on the passenger seat, and I’d like to think she trusted me to get her to where we were going and then back home to her kennel mate. Grace does a great job tolerating the young’un.

And then there’s me. How often do I lose my confidence? How often do I try to get out of unfamiliar surroundings and back to the familiar? How often do I become anxious?

In my Thursday morning Bible study, a member noted she had been in a previous study which emphasized how females often turn immediately to a friend for support, for advice, for a shoulder to cry on, for a celebratory hug. Nothing wrong with the sisterhood. But what she wanted to impress upon us was we need to turn immediately to someone else rather than our friends. I sat there thinking I know just what she was sharing with us. Why don’t I turn immediately, and I mean immediately, to God when I’m in a pickle, when I’m blue, when I can’t believe this and that happened, when I can’t believe he or she said what? I’m not our puppy. Arabella eventually figured out to trust me.

So when do I figure out to trust God? When do I let Him be in control? …weird question…He already is in control; it’s me fighting Him with my two cents, my stubbornness, my fear, my fear, did I repeat myself? Trust. It should be so simple. But I’m living in a broken world with broken people and some days are exhausting for a multitude of reasons. Next time I am overcome; the next time I am feeling blue or over the world I need to turn to the Man Upstairs. Confide in Him; pray to Him with my thanks, my concerns, my needs, and my fears. Once I get the pipeline established with Him and His Holy Spirit works within me, then and only then, should I get on the phone or send an email. God wants me to have friends. He simply wants me to come to Him first. Seek Him out. Talk to the Guy; He’s all ears.

I pray….May I make you, God, the priority in my life. And just like Grace tolerates Arabella – I thank you God for tolerating my sins, my inequities, my moods. Thanks for being my rock. Amen

Isaiah 40:29-31 (NIV) 29 He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. 30 Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31 but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

1 Chronicles 16:11 (ESV) Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!

Shannon L. Alder: ‘Fear is the glue that keeps you stuck. Faith is the solvent that sets you free.’

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

One thought on “I took our puppy to the vet last week.

Leave a Reply

