Share the Light

I can’t remember the last time that I woke up to good news.  Shootings, killings, terrorism, hatred, sadness … darkness.  I stop and wonder sometimes what is happening in this world that we are living in?  What will things be like as my son gets older?  What will my grandchildren wake up to one day?  One of my friends recently posted these words:  “Humans, stop killing other humans. Period.”  Does that really seem that hard?  I wish it didn’t.  The days just seem so dark.

My son’s favorite Bible verse is the Golden Rule that is found in Matthew 7:12, “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you.”  That’s so simple.  My nine year old lives this way – he quotes it to me all the time.  In everything.  Not some things.  Not just good things.  Not just bad things.  In EVERYTHING, treat others as you want to be treated.  If everyone acted each day based just on that, just on those words, or even just tried a little harder to do so, can you imagine what this world would look like?  Can you imagine what your news feed would look like?  Can you imagine the light that would sweep over things?

I wish I knew an easier way to make that happen.  I wish I could wave my magic wand or light a candle or post some instructions that would go viral all over the world and fix our broken desires for superiority or revenge or power.  I wish I could erase skin colors and political affiliations and opposing perspectives and just make everyone realize that we are all the same.  I wish we could take what we don’t know about each other and turn it into what we can learn from each other.  I wish people understood that the left wing and the right wing are part of the same bird.  I wish we believed that whites and blacks are part of one race, the human one.  I wish we all remembered that we are made in God’s image and in respect to Him for that we should respect each other … respect humanity.  I wish I could make everyone see those things and so much more … that simple Golden Rule.

I don’t have a magic wand or amazing instructions, but I do have a secret weapon.  That is my knowledge that even though it appears Satan is winning so many battles right now, God has already won this war.  He has already overcome death and the grave and has a heavenly home waiting for each of us who believe.  That is what I can share.  He sent His son Jesus to die on a cross to take away all the awful things we do here on earth – all of our sins.  That is what I can share.  Jesus came to be the light of the world.  That is what I can share.

One of my favorite quotes is from Harry Potter when Dumbledore says, “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times if one remembers to turn on the light.”  Last month, I got to share with almost 500 kids our VBS theme that Jesus is the Light of the World.  My daughter is in Hong Kong sharing that theme with a few hundred other kids.  I hope.  And I pray.  I dream … that that message takes seed in those hearts – those thousand hearts even – that their lights are turned on.  What can that do to share more light?  What if those thousand seeds strived just a bit harder as they grew up to bring light?  What a difference that would make.  What can you do today to share more light?  If you don’t know where to start, just start where my son does … the Golden Rule.  Gold shines pretty bright.

Trying to shine,

Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

