Make Your Own Mantra

My gym sends me emails for encouragement on fitness and training. Exercise is a road I’ve been on for a long time; sometimes I’m on track in the right lane, sometimes I’m stalled on the shoulder and well, some days I find myself on an exit ramp without knowing it. The latest healthy lifestyle tip opened with: “Doneta, a good attitude has the power to bring happiness, success and positive changes to your life. Maintain your positive approach to exercise.”

I thought wow I should blog about that, and looking back at my journal I realized a year ago I did write about “An Attitude of Gratitude”. May be this was a nudge from God, saying “Let’s revisit this thought again”. I love how He does that to me.

My encouraging word quoted:  Sometimes the noise from inside our own head is the biggest stressor of all. People average 60,000 thoughts a day and 80 percent of those thoughts are negative. Ouch. Negative thoughts are bad news for the body as stress causes wear and tear on many physical health systems. Positive affirmations may be the key to stress-free health, according to Dr. Maoshing Ni, author of Second Spring.

Dr. Ni recommends offsetting your stress by repeating calming, soothing positive affirmations to yourself because the thoughts that bubble up from our consciousness affect our health, just as our diets and exercise habits do. Positive thoughts feed the body nourishing mental energy. The next time you have negative thoughts, imagine a big stop sign in your head, and tell yourself, “Stop!” Then, replace them with positive, soothing messages.

Here are some examples:

  • When you exercise and feel tired, think, “I am strong.”
  • When you pass by a mirror, think, “I am the perfect weight for me.”
  • When you set to work on a hard task, think, “I can accomplish anything.”
  • When you feel overwhelmed, think, “I trust in the process of life.”

All well and good, but that’s when God’s nudge became a thump on my head.  My maker’s instruction manual would counter each of the above, like this:

Feeling tired? The Lord is my strength and my might Ex 15:2

Self-image? He who created you, who formed you; do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you my name you are mine Is 43:1

Difficult task? I can do all things through Him who strengthens me Phil 4:13          

Overwhelmed? Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and will not be afraid Is 12:2

Those are my Father’s beautiful reminders that for every question I have, for every challenge I face, for every time my spirit lags, He says to me, “Doneta, I’ve already addressed this; just read my love letter to you. It’s in there, memorize it, meditate on it, live it.”

What encouragement! What support! What love!Gods-Power-Is-Amazing

Blessings as you let God’s love sink into your heart and mind so you can with the attitude of victory live the life He gave you and encourage others.  Doneta

Leave a Reply

