Fears and kingdoms

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo not be afraid. Ok. How do I do that? It seems I’m afraid (or worried) about a lot of things this time of year. Most of them are inconsequential. I’m afraid December 24th will roll around and I won’t have my tree up, much less decorated. I’m afraid I will not have gotten appropriate (or any) gifts for the people on my list. I worry there will be no cards mailed from the Johnson house this year. How silly this all seems when I write it out.

Do any of these things matter? I’m thinking not. There are, of course, other things that seem to matter in the “big scheme” of things. I’m talking about health, relationships, finances–you get the idea–fill in the blank for your life. What’s your biggest fear this Christmas? No, really, I mean it. Think about it and say it right here: I am afraid ______________. You might even have to say more than one thing, I don’t know. We all have fears and worries. And God knows them sometimes better than we do.

That’s why His Word is full of promises regarding your fears.  Here are a few:

“Do not be afraid of them; the Lord your God himself will fight for you.” Deuteronomy 3:22 (NIV) Thank you, God. I’m battle weary. Please help me let You take over.

“In God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me?” Psalm 56:11 (NIV) (It’s always about what other people think or do, isn’t it?)

“Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord. Jeremiah 1:8 (NIV) Rescuing! Yes! That’s what I need! Please save me from this, Lord. Or, do you have a better plan. A bigger plan? A higher plan?

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” Luke 12:32 (NIV) Wait. What? The kingdom?

First of all, I love to be called “little flock,” because it makes me feel so loved. It fulfills my need to have been fully, completely loved from the day I was born. It reminds me of the love I have for my grandchildren. “Come here, little Ben. Oh little Joey Bear, how are you today?” The Father–MY Father–is pleased with me. Wow! So much so that He has given me the kingdom. A KINGDOM. Try to wrap your mind around that for a minute. Not of the things in this world, though. A kingdom where moth and rust will not destroy. Because all of those cards, gifts, and trees will eventually end up…well…somewhere. And one day, when God calls me home, none of the other things will matter either. Where my treasure is, that’s where my heart will be. Oh! And the best part was at the beginning. Do not be afraid. Do. Not. Be. Afraid.

Oh MY Father, (said like 18-month old Benjamin says, “MY Nana”), please help me to not be afraid. Of anything. Period. Help me to take my eyes off of myself and put them on You and the things, the treasures, of Your world. Your kingdom. In the mighty name of Jesus I pray, believing You are able to do it. And thank you, God. Thank you for entrusting me with the kingdom. I need Your help so much. Please, Lord, hear my cry. Amen.

Remember, you, too are given the kingdom! Fix your eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of your faith.
God bless your day!

Jeanne

Leave a comment